Our Next Concerts

POSTPONED: St John Passion with Banbury Choral Society

April 4 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm St Mary’s Banbury, Horse Fair

Postponed: looking to re-arrange

POSTPONED: Graham Blyth conducts Beethoven, Sibelius and Brahms

April 25 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm SS Peter and Paul, Wantage, Church Street


POSTPONED: Parry, Elgar and Walton with Cherwell choral society

May 16 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm St Peter & St Paul, Deddington, Church Street

POSTPONED: looking to re-arrange

Martin Quinn conducts Cherwell Choral Society

Parry I was glad
Parry Blest pair of Sirens
Elgar Pomp & Circumstance No. 4
Walton Crown Imperial
Elgar Spirit of England

POSTPONED: Rutter and Copland with OUP choir

May 30 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm St Barnabas, Oxford, St Barnabas Street

Rutter Feel the Spirit

POSTPONED: Rutter in Christchurch, Dorset

June 13 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm Christchurch Priory, Priory House, Quay Road

Rutter: Magnificat, Gloria, Te Deum, Five Meditations for Orchestra

Chloe Rooke conducts Mozart, Beethoven and Sibelius

June 27 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm St Barnabas, Oxford, St Barnabas Street

Chloe Rooke conducts Oxford Sinfonia

Joe Davies conducts Ives, Copland, Maxwell Davies and Barber

September 26 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm University Church of St Mary the Virgin, High Street

Joe Davies conducts Oxford Sinfonia
Emma Lisney Violin
Stephanie Franklin Mezzo Soprano

Handel Messiah at SJE Arts

December 20 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm SJE Arts, 109a Iffley Rd

vOx and Oxford Sinfonia come together to play Handel’s Messiah in its original orchestration.


Founded in 1984, we are an amateur chamber orchestra of the highest standard. The orchestra does not have a fixed membership or a permanent musical director. This enables it to engage a wide range of accomplished musicians to direct and play in each concert. Many of our players are involved in music professionally, though not necessarily as performers.

We promote four concerts a year and some special projects, and specialise in accompanying choral societies. We have been involved in twinning concerts, fireworks concerts and concerts for charities.

We regularly offer young, up-and-coming soloists and conductors the opportunity to work with the orchestra.

We are a registered charity no 1005364.

To keep up to date, please ‘Like’ our Facebook page @oxfordsinfonia

Concert Tickets

Tickets for Oxford Sinfonia concerts are now on sale on this website. Follow ‘Click here to buy tickets’ for each concert. Tickets are not refundable.

New Players

We are always keen to hear from good new players, especially violins. To apply to play with the orchestra, please email info@OxfordSinfonia.co.uk.

Watch us play

We appear in the above video from the Venice Biennale following our concert conducted by Cayenna Ponchione in January 2015 on the theme of 'Water'. Listen to us at 3'59".

Like us on Facebook